Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsors

Sessions Sonsors

T-Shirt Sponsor

Food & Beverage Sponsors

Lanyard Sponsor

Video Conference Sponsor

Conference Supporters

For over three decades, AIA Florida Gulf Coast Chapter has hosted the Sarasota Design Conference, a unique event in a unique city. The Conference aims to be motivational for both attendees and speakers and has created a history of featuring design-innovative speakers both established and up-and-coming who are able to interact with their attendees in a casual setting that encourages dialog and learning. This biennial event is well attended by industry professionals, primarily architects in the Florida Caribbean region.

Past Sarasota Design Conferences

Antoine Predock 
Peter Eisenman 

Paul Rudolph 

Hugh Newell Jacobsen
E. Fay Jones
Michael Sorkin

Stanley Tigerman
Thom Mayne

Tod Williams & Billie Tsein 
Enrique Norten

Mack Scogin 
David Chipperfield

Rafael Viñoly
James Stewart Polshek 

Eric Owen Moss 
Thomas Phifer 
Alex Krieger 
Chad Oppenheim 

Lake Flato: Ted Flato 
MLS Architects: Brian Mackay-Lyons
Brooks+Scarpa: Lawrence Scarpa
Translucent Concrete: Aron Losonczi

Design with a Conscience
Jamie Lerner 
Public Architecture: John Peterson 
Studio Gang: Jeanne Gang
Estudio: Teddy Cruz


Blurring the Lines of Architecture
BIG: David Zahle
GLUCK+: Peter Gluck 
Artist: Ned Kahn

Koning Eizenberg: Julie Eizenberg 
Kieran Timberlake: Billie Faircloth

What's Next
Futurist: David Houle
Wilkinson Eyre: Chris Wilkinson
Artist: Stacy Levy
MASS Design Group: Alan Ricks

Designing to the Challenge
Snohetta: Elaine Molinar
Rogers Partners: Robert Rogers
BuroHappold Engineering: Craig Schwitter
MaryAnn Thompson Architects: Maryann Thompson
Eric Cesal: Post-Disaster Expert
Tezuka Architects: Takaharu Tezuka

Designing for Change

Renzo Piano Building Workshop: Elisabetta Trezzani, 
Dr. Sherry Ahrentzen, School of Building Construction, University of Florida
WXY architecture+urban design: Claire Weisz
Dr. Dickson Despommier, Columbia University
Waechter Architecture: Ben Waechter
Grimshaw Architects: William Horgan
Salty Urbanism-Sarasota Workshop: Jeff Huber, Keith van de Riet, Tim Rumage
Panel Discussion: Changes to Our Practice


Design With Vision

Takashi Fujino - Ikimono Architects

Jonathan Smith - Lake | Flato Architects

Bradley A. Lukanic, CannonDesign

Shajay Bhooshan, Henry David Louth, Vishu Bhooshan - Zaha Hadid Architects (ZHA)

Rozana Montiel - Estudio de Arquitectura

Jonathan Glancey

Kristy Walson, Derick Thompson - TLC Engineering Solutions

CLICK HERE to view the

2022 Sarasota Design Conference photo gallery.

CLICK HERE to revisit the

2020 Sarasota Design Conference presentations.

2018 Sarasota Design Conference Photo Gallery

2016 Sarasota Design Conference Photos

AIA Florida Gulf Coast Chapter | P.O. Box 160 | Sarasota | FL | 34230 | info@aiagulfcoast.org | 941.315.8242

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software