Design & Honor Awards Speaker Presentation

Thursday, October 29

6:30 PM - Free Virtual Presentation

The 2020 AIA Florida Gulf Coast Design Awards is designed to encourage excellence in architecture, to elevate the public consciousness of good design, and to recognize owners, designers, and contractors whose work enriches the built environment.

The program recognizes great design and a commitment to service, which contributes to the advancement of the profession. The winners will be honored at the Design Awards presentation on October 29, 2020.




Projects submitted must have been completed within the immediate past five calendar years and be substantially complete by the date of submission for built work awards.

The program is open to architectural projects of all sizes and classifications, Eligible projects include single buildings, groups of buildings, parks and plazas, historic preservations, additions, remodeling, adaptive reused and interiors.

Completed projects by licensed architects [1] who are a member of the AIA Florida Gulf Coast Chapter are eligible regardless of where their projects are located.  Alternatively projects completed by architects licensed in the Florida/Caribbean region but not a member of the AIA Florida Gulf Coast Chapter are eligible on the condition that the project being submitted is located in the Gulf Coast Chapter region [2].

All architects submitting projects (or portions thereof) must designate authorship of each portion of the project.  The submitting architect may qualify as a member of a design team, whether or not serving as the head of the team.  When one architect is not the sole author, all other participants contributing substantially to the design of the project must be given credit as part of the submission, regardless of professional discipline.

Work which has previously been awarded an AIA Florida Gulf Coast Design Award is NOT eligible for entering in the same category.

*[1] For purposes of the Design Awards Program, a licensed architect is defined as a person who is registered to practice architecture in the Florida/Caribbean region.

*[2] For the purposes of the Design Awards Program, Gulf Coast region is defined as Manatee, Sarasota, Highlands, Hardee, & Desoto counties.

The first entry is $100 for members and $115 for non-members and includes one (1) ticket to the Design Awards Dinner on April 16. Each subsequent entry is $75 for members and $95 for non-members (no Dinner ticket included with subsequent entries). Firms, please register all entries under one email address.

Registration closes at 11:59 p.m. on Friday, February 28, 2020.

Submission deadline for ALL award categories is 11:59 p.m. on Friday, March 6, 2020.

Categories: (Click HERE for complete description)

    New Work - Residential
    New Work - Commercial and Public
    Renovations and Additions
    Historic Preservation and Restoration
    Interior Architecture
    Unbuilt Work
    Sustainable Design
    Innovation with Materials
    Associate Level
    Theoretical and Research

The Design Awards dinner will be held on October 29, 2020 at the Art Ovation Hotel. Click below for sponsorship information.

More Information
    Awards Guidelines
    Submission Criteria
    Board Specifications

Honor Awards Nominations

Please consider nominating someone for an Honor Award. Click HERE for the nomination form. Nominations are due by Friday, March 6, 2020.

     Honor Award Categories:
     Medal of Honor
     Builder of the Year
     Champion of Architecture

Questions? Please contact 

Thank you to our Design Awards Sponsors!



AIA Florida Gulf Coast Chapter | P.O. Box 160 | Sarasota | FL | 34230 | | (850) 270-1222

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software